Day 58: Protons are Protons, Not Quarks, They’re Protons … Duh!

intense convo

The science lab was buzzing today. In between working with students, who made appointments to meet with me (so cool!), I couldn’t help but eavesdrop on the impressive conversations that were taking place as students were assembled in small groups like the one in the above picture. Here’s some of the amazingness I overheard:

What are the physical properties of the soul?

What would it be like to be able to see some non-visible wavelengths of light?

Student 1: Are you a bunch of atoms or are you a human being?

Student 2: It depends.

What is space? What is nothing?

Your inability to comprehend something doesn’t mean it isn’t true.

There is literally nothing outside of the universe, literally nothing, not space … nothing.

Could life be silicon-based instead of carbon-based?

One student 3 to another: I want to build something like a coilgun to launch stuff into space. Do you want to help me?

I wonder if I could do an experiment to figure out how much water I could drink before my bladder burst – you know, without actually having my bladder burst.

How stable is DNA … like in a fossil?

What does it mean to be alive? When do we become alive?

#dude #kidsrule #questionsquestionsquestions #anyqs

